Showing posts with label MLKjr. Show all posts
Showing posts with label MLKjr. Show all posts

Thursday, January 31, 2013

Still Doing MLK and a 100th day Freebie

Hey everyone! Welp, I know MLK jr day has been long over, but in our grade level, we are incoporating Black History Month next month and making a couple weeks long project. We will be focusing on MLK, Ruby Bridges, and Rosa Parks. The kids have been learning using laptops in groups and doing some research. We broke the parts up so each person has a job each day. Here's some pics so far...
in their groups...hard at work :)

necklaces they wore while working
presenting the info of the day :)


On another note, tomorrow is our 100th day! Wahoo, and it's Friday! Double wahoo! :) I will be taking more pics, but here's what I'm giving the kiddos as a treat (and we'll be eating some graham crackers and watching a movie)
I have a copy for you in case you want to snag it, our put it in your files for next year. :) Now I'm off to finish up some school stuff and have some dinner, then work out. :D
Photobucket

Thursday, January 17, 2013

Proud (Kitty) Parents!

Hey everyone! So I am so glad this week is over and I can relax. Today we had a PD day and it was only semi-productive. But the day is over and I can enjoy my new kitty!!
My fiance and I picked her up from the shelter last night and she did surprisingly well. She just got fixed and she was a little out of it, but we kept her in the bathroom all night and she's been eating and even used her litter box twice. Today when I got home, my fiance had her in the bedroom and she has been very lovey and friendly. We finally let her into the living room and she's having fun exploring, so I'm glad she's adjusting. Oh by the way, her name is Stella! :)

On a side note, we did all sorts of MLK jr stuff this week with a culminating writing activity and here is the craftivities they did that went with the paper. 

It's raining like crazy here and it's going on the 4th day. Tonight they're predicting it to turn to ice/snow and we are supposed to get up to 4 inches. Me being from Ohio, it's nothing, but it's funny to see everyone get freaked out about it. Me...I'll be all cuddled up this weekend. :) I plan on making some cookies and just enjoying the long weekend.  I hope you can do the same! Have a great night!
Photobucket